Get that sexy, lean body you always wanted- lift heavy

Published January 31, 2012 by npony

lift heavypainisgain.tumblr.com

A good friend of mine the other day over dinner lead me into the conversation of how to get that sexy and lean body. She has battled a long yoyo of weight gain and weight loss. ‘Wouldn’t it be nice to just get there and stay at that perfect body’.

From what she described to me it sounds like the perfect answer is to get in that weight room and just start doing free weights and start doing what I think are the most important lifts- squat, deadlift and bench press.  Of course diet is an important factor too, proven by the sayings- the way you look and your health is ‘80% diet, 10% exercise and 10% genetics, and  ‘Abs are made in the kitchen’.

I actually avoid reading all the magazine articles about getting ‘toned’ now. They show off that amazing body but don’t give the correct information. It is a massive misconception that only men should lift. Men and women can do the same things, but the results are different.

Now I tried to tell my friend all about the world of lifting, but she refused to believe that she wouldn’t get ‘big and bulky’. But it is just impossible for women to get big and bulky- they don’t have enough testosterone! I guess it is quite a difficult situation to address, when thinking back to my beliefs about lifting didn’t change that long ago.

So instead of me trying to explain, I would like to share a collection of the best  of what I have read, to show why women should lift heavy in the gym;

  • JC Deen post  is probably my favourite, he has some good examples of women and some cool videos on there;

http://jcdfitness.com/2011/08/attention-women-heres-proof-that-lifting-heavy-weights-will-not-make-you-big-and-bulky/

  • One of the girls gone strong team has wrote a great post on her blog;

http://www.negharfonooni.com/2010/04/real-women-lift-weights-heavy-weights.html

  • Also another from JC Deen about the misconceptions of the marketing world;

http://jcdfitness.com/2011/06/i-dont-want-to-get-big-and-bulky-fitness-marketing-and-its-effect-on-women/

  • Jen Grassos blog has her workouts and some interesting entrys, and I think she is a good example of looking good after lifting;

http://renegadefitness.com/

If you are more of a visual person, then these videos and pictures might help also 🙂


25.media.tumblr.com

allwomenstalk.com

muffintop-less.tumblr.com

heygetfit.tumblr.com

becomewhatyouwant.tumblr.com

4 comments on “Get that sexy, lean body you always wanted- lift heavy

  • Love. As a former personal trainer I wanted to bang my head against a wall every time a new female client said she didn’t want to get “big and bulky”. The accomplishments I’m most proud of exercise-wise are my gradual increase in weights on squats, dead lifts, and bench presses.

  • Leave a Reply

